top of page

Interview Sub-divded flat resident

The resident (Ms.Lee) I visited lived in the Sham Shui Po, one of the poorest area in Hong Kong. She has not lived in Hong Kong for 7 years therefore she is qualify to enjoy the rights of living public housing. (Despite you are qualify to live in public housing, due to scarce land resources, people need to wait for a long time to get their own flat in public housing).


Generally, I surprised that her living condition is not as bad as I have expected. I watched a lot of documentaries on housing for grassroots and it is more narrow and messy than the one I have visited. One of the reason her flat is better is that the landlord refurbished the place well . However, the size of her flat is only 8 square meters!


Layout of her flat

Inside of her flat:

I prepared a lot of questions about space - saving and space utilising however many of them doesn't apply to her because she don't really buy and own a lot of possession as I expected.

She also brought me to the rooftop of the building and shown me some rooftop houses. Unfortunately, I was not be able to go inside but just by looking at the exterior appearance, I can definitely tell the living condition is terrible.

Clips of the interview (In Cantonese Only)

I also did a survey to try to find out more.

bottom of page